Posted on

as i said…

recently i have been awarded(?) the title of teacher by my japanese taiko teacher. he wants me to have more and more confidence, so he is giving me opportunities to not only play solos but also to teach workshops. in fact very soon i will be teaching, alongside him and 2 students. we will be teaching all day. i am indeed honored and humbled. recently i have had a backache, but my friend gave me a massage and i also have heat pad stickers. they seem to be doing the trick.
today i am playing 3 times in one day. thankfully the weather is not unbearable. i am fortunate for that.
in fact i recently saw the pictures that i have posted.
the voice of god comes from the semi but it becomes the rhythm of the taiko. why? it is very complicated to explain, but in simple words…
a) the semi is on the tree.
this tree may become a wadaiko
b) the semi communicates with kami sama who resides in nature, right?
c) the semi voice becomes the rhythm of taiko when slowed down…
if you can slow down, you can hear it very clearly.

i am thankful for many things, but recently i have met my first japan teacher. my second teacher allowed me to rest at her house while i had a favor. my parents-in-law walked the parade with me yesterday and lent a hand. nice, right? i also had a chance to have 3 homestays. my last one has a variety of taiko videos that the father made. maybe i can get a copy? wow. ureshii. my wife sent a picture of my daughter, and through the mist, she came today. and many other things like that.
笑て

About charleswinstead

having lived in japan for 3.5 years i wish to "go back to the island" as often as i can. i lived from 1999-2003. i went back in 2007, then again in 2011. i am a full time teacher, so the best time to go for me is during the summer vacation. it works out well because i love the sensational feelings i get in japan during the summer...especially playing taiko and eating lots of ma-cha ice.

3 responses to “as i said…

  1. Hi Charles,

    here’s the video of you playing taiko in Yokkaichi yesterday.

    J

Leave a Reply

